How to embed video

So say you’re hanging out online and you find a video that is interesting. You might think, “I want to share this video with the class on the blog.”

In this case I was reading Boingboing and found a video of a monkey washing dishes. This would be good to show my Intro class. Now I’m going to open up a new tab in my browser and go to the WordPress Dashboard. I’ve got my title and the text box, which looks like where you would compose an email, is empty. The text box is where everything happens.

Alright, I know that the author at Boingboing is not the originator of the video. Like a news reporter he’s sharing with me some information that he’s found. However, like a good blogger, the author has provided a link to the source of the information so I can see where it came from. The link he provides takes us here.

Reading the original post, I now know that the video was taken by some guy who was caring for captive primates before they were to be released into the wild. And there’s a good quote from him too that will interest my students.

The video that I want to use has been uploaded to YouTube, so clicking on the video’s title, “Pete the Monkey washing dishes,” takes me to the same footage on YouTube’s website. This is where I go to get the embed code.

Next you want to click on the button that says “Share.” It’s just below the video box between the Like button and the counter that shows how many times the video has been viewed.

Clicking on “Share” opens up a little box with the permalink, an “Embed” button, an “Email” button, and buttons for Facebook and Twitter. Click on “Embed.”

Once you click on the “Embed” button a box of highlighted code will appear. You want to use your copy and paste function to copy that into the WordPress Dashboard. So on PC, right click the text, and select copy. Then you tab back over to WordPress in your browser and right click the textbox. Select paste and viola, you have just embedded a video into your blog.

Since the video looks lonely by itself, I’m going to add some commentary and give it a tag before I click publish. But I’ll cover those tasks in a separate post. See the complete blog post here, Good Boy, Pete!

About Matt Thompson

Matt Thompson is a project cataloger at The Mariners' Museum library. He has a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and was formerly a professor at ODU. You can find him on Twitter @m4ttTh0mps0n.
This entry was posted in How to. Bookmark the permalink.