Liquid Plummer ad is like WHOA!

Okay, first this…

Heh. There are number of things that are funny about this commercial. One is the dissonance between the woman’s fantasy self and her reality self. I find this is actually very endearing because we all, in our own ways, imagine ourselves as more awesome than we really are. I especially like how she lets her hair down all Charlie’s Angels-style, but it doesn’t quite work. And the Barry White-esque voice over with the 70s soundtrack puts me in stitches.

In the finale she comes to in a jolt and she’s back in the supermarket. A quick look around and there are her fantasy men busy (1) cutting meat and (2)holding melons? Oh man! At least they didn’t cut to a roast on a spit. Seriously. When has double penetration ever been referenced in a commercial before?

So girls. You gonna clean that drain yourself now?

About Matt Thompson

Matt Thompson is a project cataloger at The Mariners' Museum library. He has a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and was formerly a professor at ODU. You can find him on Twitter @m4ttTh0mps0n.
This entry was posted in Advertizing / Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Liquid Plummer ad is like WHOA!

  1. Pingback: Oh whoa is tale | Solmaz Hafezi

  2. caleno23 says:

    I loved this commercial the first time I saw it! I think its great that they are playing with the idea of catering to, what could potentially be, a sexual fantasy for women. If you look at ads directed towards men, weather dealing with cars or technology, a lot of times you’ll see women being seductive alone or in multiples. (example; the new Kia commercial with all of the Victoria Secret models.) Even though I think its interesting that commercials dealing with liquid plumbing are directed towards women, I’m glad to see they had fun with it! And to add to that, the two men they chose are INSANELY good looking. I don’t know how much research has been done to see how often women think about sex, but I’m positive seeing two men like that in the same place would cause any rational and sexual women to have her own fun fantasies =]

  3. I love the taking matters into your own hands approach of the commercial. It appeals to me to the point of my purchasing the Liquid Plumbr product next time my sink clogs. Every time I encounter plumbing issues I attempt to handle it myself and would only call an actual plumber if things got to the point of extreme seriousness. The two hot guys, one holding the snake (i’m here to snake your drain) & the other holding the liquid (i’m here to flush your pipe), represent the appeal of this product. A mini-snake that comes with the liquid is extremely attractive to me and that is certainly the point. Instead of fumbling around at the end, If she had exuded confidence by, leaving with one or both of the guys would have been a more suitable ending for me. That is just me pushing at social change to move faster than it is. Thanks for turning me on to this product.

  4. Sil says:

    This commercial is hilarious. As mentioned in a previous response, it’s too bad that a woman’s sexuality had to be portrayed in a commercial for a house chore item. But at least it is one of the few commercials in which the men are the hotties while the female is the regular Jane getting the attention. The male oriented commercials are just way too pervasive in our society, so even the few geared towards women are a sign of change. Now, let’s just hope for a (insert manly item/product here) commercial for women by a woman – such as a hot rod car or motorcycle. Or is there one out there already that I don’t know of?

Comments are closed.