War on Women

I am sure that many, if not all of you have heard the uproar in VA over the latest bills trying to get passed, that dictate what a woman does with her body. This is something that is going on right here in our state of Virginia. Governor McDonald (Republican) supports this kind of attack on women. What many people do not know is that he wrote his thesis in college (Regent University) that people should be okay for people to deny jobs, adoption, and other things due to religious beliefs, sexual orientation, and even gender.( Rachel Maddow on Governor McDonald.  )  In Virginia women have been banning together to fight against these horrific bills. Even though thousands have protested against these bills here in VA, Governor McDonald still signed the ultrasound bill. 

This has sparked the War against Women; it has become a national debate. Republicans all over the United States are currently fighting to pass legislation that will allow forced ultrasounds to hear the baby’s heartbeat before being allowed to have an abortion, a limit on birth control access, and also allowing businesses to refuse insurance coverage of birth control based on religious views. These are just a few of the things that are being covered in these bills. Republican Party leaders who are running for President are supporting this war.  Here is a quote from Republican Candidate Rick Santorum:

“One of the things I will talk about, that no president has talked about before, is I think the dangers of contraception in this country.” And also, “Many of the Christian faith have said, well, that’s okay, contraception is okay. It’s not okay. It’s a license to do things in a sexual realm that is counter to how things are supposed to be.”

One thing I feel that people do not understand about this entire thing is it has nothing to do with the morality of abortion. It goes pass that and into where is the line drawn between government interference and personal freedom. There is a reason we have the separation of church and state. It is because we come from a nation that each individual has liberties to believe in what he or she feels the need to follow. Does the government have the right to interfere with what a woman chooses to do with her body? Should this even be a political debate? Well, currently it is one of the biggest debates ongoing for this coming up election.

Here is another article that I thought would hit close to home and make everyone think about how important the access to birth control is to a woman. This is very interesting. It also reminds me about how horrible the idea of not having the right to protect myself from unwanted pregnancy. I am in college and I want to have a family but right now education is my focus. My husband and I do not want to bring a child into the world before we are ready to….I wish we were fighting to bring this bill into action instead of having to fight to have birth control at all…
http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2009/11/25/pregnancy

About allibaker214

Criminal Justice and Sociology double major. Currently, I am in my junior year at ODU. My favorite pass times are reading and working on my own book of poetry. I am a big Nerd! I am married, 2.14.11.
This entry was posted in Activism, Politics & Protest. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to War on Women

  1. kyndallwilliams116 says:

    This new bill makes me SICK. The woman in the picture has it spot on: who would’ve thought we’d be fighting for women’s rights in 2012?! Please excuse me, but I am about to go on a rant.

    WHO is a man of wealth to tell me, a woman, to pay to listen to the beating heart of a child before I abort it? Women who get abortions aren’t heartless. They don’t get abortions for simply not wanting a kid. Women get abortions for the sake of the unborn child, because they know they aren’t capable of caring for it. So thank this bill when in 10 years theres double the amount of children living in poverty because their mothers couldn’t afford a child but were shamed out of an abortion. WHO is a man to not tell me, but FORCE me to do something that he will NEVER understand or have to go through. The very idea of man trying to tell me what is best for my pregnancy/abortion/child makes me absolutely livid. I’m sorry but this is a disgusting and invasive bill. How uncultured someone must be to think this bill would fly in 2012?

    Unfortunately we live in a patriarchal world where men high on power think they have the right to invade the most personal aspect of a woman’s life- childbirth. I’m sad to see my democratic, economically developed country imposing these things on me. Also, if Rick Santorum gets elected I’m fleeing the country ASAP. No joke, getting the hell out of this delusion of the “land of the free”.

  2. You can count me in the “If you don’t want an abortion, don’t have one” camp. Seriously, how many women are like totally stoked to go get an abortion? None. The only reason a woman would ever do that is if she feels like she HAS to.

    One might think that this libertarian mentality that is sweeping the country at the moment might recognize that ideals that include a smaller government seem hypocritical when they also want to use the government to control people’s most private decisions. I read a blog post recently (I seem to have lost the link) where the author, a historian, was arguing that in fact libertarianism and patriarchy go way back. And this has to do with the curtailing of government authority over private property, sacred in America, while maintaining control over women as if they were a kind of property.

  3. jenahmoody says:

    This War on Women mess pisses me off too. It is absolutely rediculous! What right does the governement have to tell a woman she can not have an abortion? But for me, what makes me even more livid, what right does the governement have to tell me I can not use contraseption!? I am a wife and a mother and I love my family. But it is MY CHOICE to not have any more children right now. Our family can not afford it. What the hell are they thinking, trying to pass legeslation that will prevent working women from using contraseption. What are they trying to do? Force us back into the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant!?!
    And what’s worse, I was watching the news yesterday and Romney is even trying to deny that there is even a War on Women taking place! He’s relying on his wife (who has what, good grief- like 5 kids) to make sure he gets women voters.
    I’m with ya’ll- the whole thing makes me sick to my stomach. We’re supossed to be making progress in 2012.

  4. allibaker214 says:

    Professor,
    “Thanks to Rick Santorum, Rush Limbaugh, and the Virginia Legislature we’re engaged in an elevated and enlightened national debate over just exactly how big slutty slut sluts are our nation’s women.” I loved how that blog you shared started off. It shows are crazy sounding the GOP is being with this war. It is our job as the nation to try and shut them down.

    kyndallwilliams116: The idea of doubling or even more the rate that children are being born into poverty is so sad. The worst part is that the officials are also trying to limit adoption as well making it even harder for homosexuals or people of different religions, and of course gender. We as women cant win.

    jenahmoody: If you think Romney is bad you should learn more about Santorum. His wife had an abortion and now he is attacking all women who have one.

Comments are closed.