Do you want to smell full of sexual tension today? Buy Now!

As a modern woman who lives in the city, juggles full-time school and part-time work, a social life and my studies, I frequently feel the need to run through a tropical rain forest half naked followed by a leisurely sit in shallow water. Sometimes I smile and blink at nothing in a manner that bids “come hither.” This is why I might be convinced to spend $88+ in order to give myself a scent that would facilitate me daydreaming these things–or to make others believe that I am capable of them. Or so the advertisers for Giorgio Armani’s Acqua di Gioia would have you believe. Take a look below (but try to contain yourself).

But more often than not I just feel myself up because I don’t have $88 for scented water:

What an unfortunate state I find myself in as a woman. On the other hand, men should instead find themselves irresistible to women (and even angels!) as a byproduct of the scent they wear. They would be so wanted by women that they would have to leave the one they were with and jet off with their entourage in tow in order to find new ones, as follows:

They should be be wanted by those in heaven and on Earth or their cologne is just not doing its job!

It’s interesting to see the different takes on the advert in regards to the gender being portrayed: how much the person is clothed; whether the sexual innuendo is explicit or covert; who is dominant in the advert (such as a man covering Rihanna’s eyes revealing a brief male dominance theme); the body parts portrayed, breasts versus abs, and other things of the like. It is up for debate whether they advertisers are aiming to capture the attention of the consumer by the way they portray the character/persona in the advert (which is my primary opinion). Or are they are trying to manipulate people who are attracted to the persona being portrayed into being sexually attracted to the characteristics of the persona in the advert in order to manipulate consumers into becoming that persona by buying their product?

This entry was posted in Advertizing / Marketing, Gendered Products, Sexuality. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you want to smell full of sexual tension today? Buy Now!

  1. What is the deal with fragrance commercials that they are the strangest things on Earth? It’s been this way since I can remember. One might suggest its because scent does not translate to the visual realm, so you have to put SOMETHING up there. Or maybe it is because smell and its connection to appetite (whether for food or sex) represents desire itself, in the abstract.

    It makes me think of this classic Simpson’s take where Homer sees the commercial for his snow plow business for the first time. Bart asks, “Was that your commercial, dad?” And all Homer can say is, “I don’t know.”

    So what is being spoofed here is the pretentiousness of perfume ads, which are beautiful and appear to be about something even if, in reality, they don’t signify anything but themselves. They’re all style and no substance. Just like a scent, which is there but invisible.

    • uksara2012 says:

      I agree that the advertisers have to use something visual to portray their intention of the perfume since it’s an invisible thing. Probably when TV first came out the commercials were (relatively) practical but now TV is all about being over the top in order to leave a last impression. I don’t know if I’ve ever come across the scents advertised in my post, so how do I know, maybe they would put those visuals in my head. But it’s kind of a chicken and egg thing now because since I know what I’m supposed to relate it to, that may be all that I can associate those scents with. Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. alexisib says:

    I have also noticed that commercials for perfumes and colognes are very strange. They often suggest that you would obtain supernatural abilities of irresistableness if you were to spray yourself with them. However, Rihanna’s perfume I would buy…because I am a huge fan of hers.

Comments are closed.